Jane Gordon, a British journalist and former ardent feminist:

Posted: August 24, 2011 in Masculinity, Religion
Tags: ,

the following is an extract from an article by Jane Gordon, a British journalist and former ardent feminist:

“And what has wrought this dramatic change in me? My son. Two years ago I gave birth to a boy. Now I understand, as I watch him at play, that the male characteristics I mocked are a vital part of his being. That eternal search for danger, that obsession with machinery, that infernal preoccupation with sport all, I have discovered, are innate in the male.”.

“My love for these boyish ways and my growing adoration of his very masculinity are curiously at odds with my old stance. If all men are bastards, what pray, are little boys?

“Only now, faced with my small son’s naturally macho instincts, am I beginning to worry about the effects of this contemporary anti-male obsession. I now find Jo Brand’s comment, “Never trust a man with testicles”, more threatening than funny.

“Indeed, rather in the way that previous generations feared for their daughter’s future, my generation fears for it’s sons.”

“Kiddie culture now reflects the same compulsion to feminize the male that today dominates our society. Small boys are discouraged from displaying any overtly masculine traits: they are urged to be less competitive, less boisterous, less dominant.

“Our sons are in danger of growing up believing that those things that come naturally to them wanting to run faster than anyone else, wanting to clamber to the very top of the climbing frame, wanting to knock down the Sticklebrick wall they have just built are in some way peculiar and unhealthy.”

“The truth is that neither the male nor the female should dominate. The emasculated male is as abhorrent as the subservient female.

“Heaven knows, I would hate to go back to a time when a woman’s place was in the kitchen. I love the freedom I have to lead the life I want. But that freedom will mean nothing if it has threatened the happiness of my son” (Sunday Mail Magazine, July 10, 1994, p. 7).

Those who support the new ideology have often said that it is better for a child to have no father rather than to have a bad father. But isn’t it better still for a child to have a good father? Shouldn’t that be what society should be encouraging? And isn’t it often the case that men who are bad fathers usually had bad fathers or even no fathers themselves? Our society has created a vicious cycle of pain and despair that is threatening to devour all our children.

What can we do? All of us, regardless whether or not we are parents, can strive to be better role-models for the children in our lives: sons and daughters, nephews and nieces, godchildren and grandchildren as well as students and even the children of friends and neighbors who may be lacking proper role-models.

We all have a duty to show God’s love to the children of this lost generation.

“Let the little children come to Me, and do not forbid them; for of such is the kingdom of heaven” (Matthew 19:14).

Such is the love of our Heavenly Father for His children.

Comments
  1. Charla says:

    dang, that lady is right on the money!

    by the way, i love your new blog and the set-up and everything!

Leave a Reply

